Graduate Programs - USA
The Division of Radiation Health Sciences in the Department of Environmental at Health Sciences, The Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health offers instruction and research opportunities in radiochemistry leading to the Sc. D. or Ph.D. degrees. The graduate program is designed for those who plan a career in industry, academe or the health professions which involves the application of radiotracer techniques. The program of studies is tailored to the interests of the individual and comprises courses in radiochemistry, radiopharmacology, radiobiology, radiation physics and instrumentation as well as courses chosen from other Departments of the University (e.g., Chemistry, Biology, Pharmacology). Doctoral candidates will be concerned with general course requirements during the first year of residence and with more specialized courses relevant to their particular interests during the second year. In most cases, supervised thesis research is initiated at the close of the first year.

The Division is housed in modern facilities equipped for research in organic, inorganic and analytical radiochemistry. On-site instrumentation includes IR, UV, GC and FT-NMR (80 and 300 MHz) as well as HPLC, radio- HPLC, radio-TLC, and microprocessor-controlled counting equipment. A fully staffed computing center (IBM 4331) and various microcomputers are available. A special feature of the program is the Johns Hopkins Biomedical Cyclotron Facility for production of short-lived radionuclides (Carbon-11, Fluorine-18, Oxygen-15) for positron emission tomographic studies. The Division of Radiation Health Sciences works closely with the Division of Nuclear Medicine in the development of radiotracers for biomedical research in areas such as neurotransmitter receptor mapping, energy metabolism, neurotoxicology and oncology.

The primary research interests of the faculty involved in radiochemistry are given below:
  • Dr. H. N. Wagner, Jr., Dir.: Nuclear medicine.
  • Dr. R. F. Dannals, Assoc. Dir. Research: Synthesis with short-lived radionuclides.
  • Dr. J. M. Links, Assoc. Dir. Academic Affairs: Physics instrumentation.
  • Dr. K. E. Baidoo: Metallo-based radiotracer development.
  • Dr. V. Balasubramanian: Radiolabeled suicide substrates; enzymology.
  • Dr. J. J. Frost: Receptor mapping by positron emission tomography.
  • Dr. T. R. Guilarte: Radiometric assays of biological significance.
  • Dr. J. R. Lever: Radiotracer design and synthesis.
  • Dr. S. Z. Lever: Organic and inorganic chemistry leading to metallic radiotracers.
  • Dr. A. A. Wilson: Organic radiochemistry.
  • Dr. D. F. Wong: Physiological modeling and receptor quantification.
    Fellowships and scholarships are available for highly qualified candidates with a background in the physical and biological sciences.

    For more information, please contact:
    Dr. John R. Lever
    The Johns Hopkins University
    Room 2001
    School of Hygiene and Public Health
    615 North Wolfe Street
    Baltimore, MD 21205-2179
    The Johns Hopkins University is an equal employment opportunity and affirmative action institution.